These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The invention of communication mediums, such as cell phones and the internet, has been profound achievements in today's world. This essay will outline the perspective, merits the big one is narrowed down the distances, and another one is entertainment through video games, which is stronger than its demerits. To begin with a positive perspective, friends and relatives, living a million miles far are one call away. Mobile phones are the fastest and reliable source to contact loved ones through audio or video calls. Moreover, the phone is a blessing to quickly access, help services such as police, ambulance and firefighters in case of emergencies. Another exclusive feature is its camera, to capture valuable moments of life, anytime and anywhere. A recent survey conducted by the University of Virginia reported, 78% of the people in the world prefer the mobile phone to stay connected and to socialize with their nears and dears. Apart from this, the internet made the world a smaller place, from where people can play online video games individually or can make teams where members could belong to different countries while sitting in their comfort zones. Furthermore, another benefit is, any childhood lost friend can be found and stay connected using applications, Facebook, Instagram and many more. In January 2020, around 2. 6 billion users in the whole world are connected through only Facebook. Moving further, the merits mentioned above should not blind us towards the danger the internet possesses as it is the double-edged weapon. There is always a risk of a hacker to intrude on someone's privacy and identity theft. In addition to this, overuse of phones and the internet can cause health risks, for example, poor eyesight, depression and anxiety. In conclusion, undoubtedly, the advantages of the newer ways of correspondence remove the distances among many people. However, everyone should be vigilant towards its disadvantages.