These days mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, technology is progressing at an exponential pace. Mobile phones and the internet are becoming the need of every person to interact with the community. This electronic advancement has affected relationships in various ways. In my perspective, the drawbacks certainly seem to be exiguous as compared to the benefits. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will elucidate my viewpoint with relevant examples. The drawback associated with this is that, it hinders real human interactions. For instance, it has been observed, people even at public places remain glued to their gadgets. Instead of interacting with the people around them, they ignore face to face conversation for virtual ones. As a result, people are nowadays struggling to chat with someone they meet out in public. Since humans are social creatures by nature who need real life connections, this runs the risk of becoming a huge problem for the society. On the flip side, Smart devices and the internet also comes with significant advantages. First and foremost, technical development has increased the efficiency of communication. For example, hundreds years ago, it was arduous to contact with a person living in another part of world while today we have numerous instant communication channels like, Whatsapp, Skype, and many more with which we can convey any information with a click of the button. Secondly, smart phones are a multipurpose device having entertainment, photo, video-capturing, and games which is way too beneficial for individuals. In the nutshell, I would like to pen down by saying that mobiles and the internet do come with certain problems, but in my opinion, if it use it wisely and appropriately it has myriad advantages for individuals and society.