The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum.

It cannot be disputed that, in the recent decade, people are suffering from a great deal of weight related health issues, thus exerting a burden on the healthcare system. In order to curb this problem, certain demographics of the society believe that schools should introduce more fitness lessons in their curriculum. This essay will completely agree with the aforementioned suggestion and provide substantial evidence to support the statement. To begin with, most diseases faced by the population today are linked to lifestyle factors, putting a strain on the healthcare system. A large part of the youth is suffering from obesity, hence developing various health problems prematurely. In order to tackle this issue a long-term approach is necessary. It is believed by many that educational facilities can be the key players in handling this issue. Firstly, schools should incorporate more physical education lessons theoretically in their regular curriculum. This will provide children with adequate knowledge regarding the relevance of physical activity and the health hazards associated with sedentary lifestyles. At the moment, the number of hours spent by an average child performing sport in school is possibly twice a week which is insufficient to counteract the number of hours spent in sedentary activities. Hence, schools should increase the number of sports and exercises in their schedule. Furthermore, children should be trained in competitive sports, and tournaments should be held annually to encourage them to participate in such activities. Another point to consider is having more sports lessons in school will result in children developing an interest towards exercise which will filter through to other members of the family, leading to a longer lasting effect. Parents and siblings of active children will be motivated to take up active pursuits themselves. This is essentially an effective way to promote public health. To conclude, I believe that, introducing more physical education lessons in school curriculum is justifiably a great way towards shaping a healthy society.