If a product is sold and people buy it, then advertising is not necessary and can be considered a kind of entertainment. with this?

Advertisement industry has been growing rapidly lately, especially since we have entered the social media era. So many entrepreneurs introduce their products and innovations by advertising through social media. However, some people believe that advertising is not useful if a product can be sold easily. There is also a notion that if this case happened, advertising will be lost its main function and can only be seen as an entertaining source. In this essay, I shall explain some functions of advertising itself and provide some arguments why I disagree with the statement above. To begin with, advertising has several functions, for instance introducing products to the market, creating brand image, and increasing sales. There are several products that are not necessary to be advertised because they only reach niche market, namely Rolex, brand of a luxury watch. However, in general terms, advertising a product can give some beneficial impacts as mentioned before. Furthermore, we have to be clear the market segment and the market size that we want to reach for a product. If we only think about short-term sales and profit, then advertising is clearly unnecessary. For example, selling a homemade cake to our classmates. It can be easily sold, but it is not scalable and sustainable. However, if we want to sell skin care products, we have to gain customers’ trust even just to try the product samples. We have to build the brand image that the skin care products that we are sold are safe. Once we have gained customers trust and successfully built the desirable brand image, the product selling will be increasing year by year, and this process can be enhanced by endorsing some famous actress to use the skin care products. To conclude, I personally disagree with the opinion that advertising is unnecessary and only a kind of entertainment. I believe there are some benefits of advertising a product if we set a long-term and sustainable goal, not only simply sale the product, but also build a brand image.