The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

A large amount of budget is allocated by the government for the entertainment industry namely arts, music and theatre. Some people opine that government should utilize these funds in public services instead. This essay will outline why it is necessary to invest more funds in public services while at the same time a small amount of investment is needed to enhance the entertainment sector of a country. To begin with, in many parts of the world people still live in poverty, with no proper access to healthcare or educational facilities. People have poor living standards with scarcity of food and clean water. Children growing up under such conditions often suffer from various ailments and rate of illiteracy is often high. Therefore, government of such nations must adequately finance public services, like medical and educational infrastructure first, as these are the primary needs of a population, rather than spending funds on arts and music which are secondary. On the other hand, a certain amount of financing should be allotted for the entertainment sector, as these areas will attract tourism and hence contribute to the economy of a country. Moreover, improvement of music and film industry will attract international media. For instance, a country like South Korea earns large sums of money from their well-established pop culture. Furthermore, through arts, museums and theater future generations will gain insight into the cultural heritage of their nation. It cannot be disputed that art and music helps in the overall sociologic development of a person. To conclude, it is essentially justified that government should utilize a significant fraction of their budget expenditure for improving public services. However, a small portion of financing should be considered to enhance the entertainment industry, as arts and music plays an integral role in building up a community.