These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, most children spend a significant amount of time playing games on a computer while less playing sports. This trend is mainly due to the availability of advanced electronics gadgets and bad weather conditions for outdoor sports. This trend has a cathode development that has adverse effects on both physical and mental health. Firstly, the trend has been shifted from physical involving games to static due to the availability of up to mark computer games. Secondly, people can play together with a multiplayer option around the globe that attracts friends and family living in different countries, for instance, the PUBG game. Furthermore, the modern virtual and augmented reality games enable the feelings of ‘being there’ experience was unimaginable in the recent past. Besides, the construction of buildings on playgrounds in addition to raw weather discourages one from sports. For instance, the overcast of Canada is unsuitable for running and a plethora of outdoor games. This shift in the trend for the younger generation has adverse effects on both mental and physical health. As people are playing more and more computer games, spend enormous time alone without physical movement, causes obesity and depression. For example, in the ongoing pandemic, Ottawa has reported massive mental health cases than ever before. These are because of the lack of communication with one another, comparing to the recent past. Therefore, people feel jubilant while playing computer games with their loved ones but underestimates the long-term side effects. In conclusion, the advent of technological items has upgraded the level of computer games. However, it has more side effects while playing for a longer time, such as obesity and depression, to name but a few.