These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, digitization has had a severe impact, especially on children. The impact of urbanization and modernization has been very severe, and this has led children being addicted to online videogames in favor of outdoor sports. The essay will discuss reasons responsible for such a development along with the negative aspects pertaining to the issue. To begin with, urbanization has resulted in elimination of playgrounds from cities and towns. Consequently, this has resulted in the construction of shopping malls and huge buildings. Thus, children do not have the necessary place to play outdoor sports. For instance, a survey in Mumbai revealed that approximately 40% of open land was used for construction purposes, since the start of the millennium. In addition, the security of children is another issue as parents are wary to send them outside to play. So, parents engage their children by letting them play online video games. However, studies have shown that playing video games for a longer time is known to have a detrimental effect on the child’s body. Although it enhances mental learning skills, but is also known to have an effect on physical and other mental activities. For instance, studies have established a clear relationship that a sedentary lifestyle leads to obesity in children. Furthermore, physical activity helps a child in the development of cognitive abilities like decision making and problem solving. In addition, sports also teaches various other like lessons like team management, working in a group and ability to take success and failure alike. To conclude, although playing video games keep children engaged for hours, it does not overall help in their development. Thus, I strongly believe that spending too much time playing online games is harmful for the upcoming generation.