These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the age of information and technology, children’s leisure pursuits are predominantly associated with computer games rather than sporting activities. This fundamental phenomenon, in my opinion, is detrimental to children and can be attributed to a few reasons. There are two factors that might explain why children prefer playing video games to doing sports. To begin with, it is noticeable that young adolescents are being prematurely introduced to electronic games. Most youngsters in the modern world are indulging in everything virtual-related, which has formed a habit of playing computerized games among children as a favourite type of entertainment compared to sports. Moreover, the lack of encouragement to play sports also contributes to children’s preference for electronic games. For instance, many parents nowadays are quite busy with their heavy workload and hence neglectful of their children’s physical development. As a result, young kids are often forced to seek alternative recreational activities other than sports, and computer games reigns supreme thanks to their accessibility. Given the prevalence of computer games among children, it is crucial for us to acknowledge any potential drawback that these easily addicted pastimes could offer. For example, if children of any age take up the habit of over-consuming video games, it may likely lead to a sedentary lifestyle and various types of health risk. Fatal diseases such as obesity or diabetes would be common since enjoying a captivating action-packed computerized game is also synonymous with hours of being physically inactive on end. Apart from that, children’s social life could be critically affected because they spend a considerable amount of time online instead of communicating with real people. Therefore, their social skills are not cultivated properly to adapt to any actual situation that involve human interaction. In conclusion, the increasing popularity of video games among children over sports can be attributed to the parents and their insufficient support towards sporting activities. In the long run, this will have negative effects towards these young kids’ health condition and damage their social life.