These days, many people prefer ready –to-eat food outside of their home rather than home-made food. Do you think this have more advantages than disadvantages.

Modern life is fast paced and people often do not have enough time to cook their meals at home. Therefore, many opt for ready-made meals to save time and effort. However, I believe that this type of food has a negative health impact, and this makes their drawbacks outweigh their advantages. It is undoubted that ready-to-eat meals provide easy and quick alternative to home-cooked meals. This type of food products sold cooked, processed and packaged and do not need much preparation. Sandwiches, salad, pizza, soup, and noodles are examples of popular ready-made meals that can be found on supermarkets’ shelves. Furthermore, these precooked meals last longer than fresh food and can be frozen and stored for several days. For instance, my aunt Mary usually has some ready meals in her refrigerator, and use them when she does not have time to cook dinner. On the other hand, ready meals can have a damaging effects on health. First, they contain a high level of salt and saturated fat, which are linked to hypertension and heart diseases. A previous report by the WHO showed that 80% of precooked food products in the market contain more than the daily recommended amount of salt. Moreover, ready-to-eat meals are often composed of highly processed food that have been stripped of his nutrients. The amount of minerals and vitamins in these products is very low compared with fresh food and home-cooked repasts. For example, a can of vegetable soup will far less nutrients than a vegetable soup cooked at home from fresh ingredients. To conclude, I believe that the shortcomings of ready –to-eat meals are far more than their advantages. They are less healthy than home –prepared meals and contain more salt and fat.