The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media, the new technology, has been substituted for traditional tools of communication in recent decades. Even though it can lead to unprecedented problems, I believe its benefits are more noticeable. On the one hand, social media usher in a new era of interaction. People used to utilize other means of communication, such as mail and telephone, to contact others. Those are much slower than today’s digital technologies; therefore, were individuals to want to get in touch with a long-distance family member, they had to whether awaiting a replay for a long time or spending a considerable amount of money. Furthermore, nowadays accessing a great deal of information and news quickly not only makes those relatives more approachable but also provides an opportunity that one is not confined to a limited area and can find like-minded friends across the world whose interest and character are the same as oneself. On the other hand, despite the advantages of this new phenomenon, social media have some undeniable drawbacks. The more people spend time in cyberspace, the further they away from the real tangible world. This can be counterproductive as constantly disrupting a direct conversation, which is necessary to build up relationships, so individuals seldom interact when being with their close friends and loved ones. Moreover, these changes have some fundamental effects on interpersonal skills. Take children, who have used social media from the outset, as an obvious example, not experiencing as well as previous generations regarding these abilities, children presumably grapple with understanding others’ feelings and emotions, which are entwined with face-to-face communication. In conclusion, although social media come in for some criticism due to unheard-of changes it makes in the way of interaction, I do believe its disadvantages are outweighed by the merits.