These days it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

The workplace is now more diverse than before. Nowadays, individuals from different age groups are commonly seen working in the same company and these new development has both pros and cons. However, I believe the benefits outnumber the consequences because it gives room for improvement and the development of new ideas but it may increase organizational conflict. Firstly, the presence of different generations in the workplace helps to improve the quality of ideas needed for business growth and it enables the development of technological competencies across board. The workforce today comprises of different generations namely the babyboomers, millennials, generation Y and Z. Each generation is known for a specific competency, and having these competencies in one company helps in creating new ideas for the business. For example, the baby boomers are good strategists while the millennials are technology experts. Furthermore, a combination of these individuals in a company will create an environment that is technologically savvy, because the millennials can easily coach the other generations on the use of the computer hence, improving their competency. Consequently, there will be an increase in organizational conflicts as a result of their different communication styles. This is because each generation has it’s preferred mode of communication, and it is possible for teams to conflict as a result of these differences. To illustrate, most millennials prefer to communicate using their phones, either through Whatsapp or Telegram. On the other hand, the older ones would rather have a meeting to discuss. In conclusion, the workplace of the 21st century comprises of people from different age groups, and this has increased organizational conflict particularly in the area of communication. Nevertheless, I think that diversity provides room for innovation and technological expertise, and these merits outweigh the demerit.