Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped.

In the contemporary world, economic development is obviously one of the top priorities of any government across the globe in reducing poverty. While economic progress is of course essential, some people believe that economic growth might exert negative effects on the environment and should be ceased. From my perspectives, I believe that environment reservation is as important as economic growth. In the one hand, it can not be deniable that a better economy could put an end to poverty and hunger. Firstly, the developed economy creates more job opportunities that allow each citizen to easily seek for stable career and have a decent income. As a result, they can easily get themselves out of the poverty. Moreover, if many businesses and enterprises are successful, they will in turn greatly contribute to the nation's budget through the tax system. This fund will consequently be allocated for building houses, improving educational quality or doing charity. On the other hand, there are countless example to support the opposing view that economic growth results in environmental destruction. To be more specific, when a country focuses on developing their economy, it also means that there are more and more factories built in that country. This would lead to high levels of Co2 and exhaust fumes in the atmosphere. In addition to that due to the negative effect of these emissions, mankind is now facing a high risk of cancer such as skin cancer by exposing directly to UV rays from the sun because ozone depletion. In the second place, economic growth correlates with the overconsumption of many natural resources. For example, the present economic man has forgotten the environment and eco-logical significance of natural vegetations mainly forests and has destroyed the forest rapidly. This gives birth to several problems encompassing environmental degradation through accelerated rate of soil erosion, floods as well as droughts. Rapid rate of industrialization also increased industrial output such chemical waste which pollute water, soil and thus degrade the environment. In conclusion, although economic growth is undeniably an essential way to eradicate poverty, I would strongly believe that apart from focusing on economic development, the government should give more priority to environmental concern in the sense that it can enhance the quality of life.