These days’ children are surrounded by electronic devices such as personal computers, tablet computers, and smart phones, and they learn to use them at a very early age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

In this day and age, modern gadgets like laptops, tablets and smart phones, have become an integral part of our lives and now they have gained immense popularity amongst young children as well. This can be advantageous in some ways, but can be detrimental at the same time. We are well aware that computer skills are essential in today’s world. The earlier a person acquires the skill of how to operate these devices, the better it is. Children are exposed to technology at a very young age since every household now has at least a smart phone or a personal computer. Young minds are naturally more curious and eager to explore such things and they learn their use rather quickly. Therefore, it is beneficial for them in future, if they already know how these appliances work. Furthermore, certain games that children play on smart phones have a positive impact on their cognitive development. For instance, games that test quickness of reflexes or problem solving techniques can improve a child’s mental capabilities. On the contrary, young children learning the use of these devices has negative consequences too because children then are likely to spend too much time using them. One of the drawbacks is the harmful effect on a child’s health. For example, excessive screen time can lead to vision problems. In addition, sitting for long hours in front of the computer can cause persistent back pain. Children also do not get sufficient physical exercise because they tend to stay inside and play games or watch videos on smart phones. Another disadvantage is that some children lose interest in academics altogether, if they engage too much in technological devices early in life. Studying and reading books can seem boring to them in comparison to using high-tech devices. Thus, evidently, learning their use at a very early stage has certain adverse effects. To recapitulate, the use of electronic devices by young children has both positive and negative outcomes. However, if the parents monitor the time their child spends on them, many of the problems can be avoided.