Social media has replaced the traditional method of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and follow news and events. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The internet has transcended national barriers in cultures and languages. Nowadays, people prefer to use various kinds of social media applications to talk, to follow the latest trend and to be an eyewitness of any international event. However, an increasing use of social media sites has both pros and cons. This essay is an attempt to verify whether the merits outweigh the demerits. Looking at the negative side, this new culture encourages people to be less socialize and make them introvert. Socializing less with real people, make a person isolated, which is responsible for various mental illnesses. Additionally, the news from social sites are not always trustable, at times they have just an intention to spread rumours, which creates chaos in the society. For example, many a time forwarded messages or news stories are fake on such sites. Looking at the positive side, this type of online communication brought the world closer. People can communicate and learn an enormous number of new things from the people all over the world. Moreover, nowadays with the help of the social sites, people can make relationships and travel around the globe more than ever before. They can keep themselves updated with the current global affairs, which makes them enable to compete at the global market. In addition, common folks can enjoy an international event from any part of the world. For instance, how easily Indian people can watch a live international beauty contest, held in the US from their home country. To conclude, despite of having several disadvantages, these websites have a number of advantages, which are irrefutable. By looking at both sides, it can be easily said that, the merits outweigh drawbacks.