There seems to be increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent many people believe that the other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There are different punishments for serious criminal behavior. While some people state that death penalty is an effective manner to prevent major criminal wrongdoings, others believe that other solutions are more efficient. This essay will discuss why death penalty might help reduce serious crimes but why life imprisonment is more effective. Killing offenders has been a measure taken by several countries in order to prevent serious crimes. This manner of crime prevention is effective because people do not enact on their wrongdoings as a result of fear of being assassinated. If someone thinks of the death penalty, this might prevent him or her from committing a rape or a murder. Countries instill fear in their citizens to control unwanted behaviors and punish them accordingly for serious injustices. Nevertheless, life-imprisonment represents a more efficient manner to deter crime. A lifetime of seclusion is not going to appeal to criminals because, contrary to the death penalty, it elongates their suffering while in prison. The sole thought of a life behind the bars might prevent them from committing serious crimes. Life imprisonment represents a longer punishment of convicted people for their wrongdoings than the death penalty. Death penalty and life imprisonment are means in which crimes are prevented. This essay discussed why death penalty is effective in deterring serious law violations but why a life behind the bars is a more efficient manner to prevent crime. In my opinion, a life of seclusion is a better deterrent for crime than the fear of a possible death because the former would last longer.