There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

Over the years, there has been a tremendous increase in the rate at which criminal activities are being infiltrated. Although it is believed by some people that the ultimate penalty for such offenses should be death, others think that the government should inculcate other means of punishment. In my opinion, I agree with the former assertion as this would help put criminals in check. On the one hand, it is believed that the death penalty should be the ultimate punishment because it instils the greatest level of fear in any human. When an intending offender remembers that committing a crime could be the end of him he will have no other choice than to retrace his steps. To illustrate, ever since the Iraqi government slated the death penalty for all crimes, the criminal rate dropped from fifty percent to fifteen per cent within a space of two years. This reemphasizes the need for such laws in order to maintain peace in the land. On the other hand, the government could have a fairer system such as the rehabilitation of criminals as not all perpetrators of crime deserve to be killed. Measures like community services, rehabilitating criminals are few methods that the state can effect in order to punish them. This not only helps foster a more balanced judiciary system, but also goes a long way in reforming the offenders and getting back on their feet. A good example of such measures is the introduction of community services for milder offences by the Lagos State government. Not only did this help keep the state sane, but it also helped in rebuilding the lives of such criminals. To conclude, while it is advised by some to give a more lenient punishment to certain crimes, it is highly essential to award a death penalty as this will help reduce the crime rate. I, therefore, believe that the rewards for all crimes should be death, as this will help breed a safer community devoid of crime and offenders.