There is more and more violence in movies and on TV, therefore it is necessary for the government to control the amount of it to decrease the violent crimes in the society.

It is irrefutable that the films and TV programmes today are filled with violence and as a result violence is increasing in our society. I agree that censoring such programmes and films, some amount of violence can be decreased. In the following paragraphs, I shall put forth my arguments to support my views. Reducing the amount of violence on TV and in the cinema would certainly be a good start to decrease violence among people. It is a well known fact that the media possess a lot of power to influence people. So, those in the media must be judicious about delivering news in a balanced manner that brings the story to the consumer without showing too much violence. Journalism is a profession like any other and certain standards of quality and professionalism needs to be maintained. There are many harmful effects of such programmes on the individuals and society. The most disturbing effect is on the children and youth. Media violence can stimulate fear in some children as it frightens them, making the effects long lasting. This can become traumatic in our children as they see it more and more. Children are starting to grow and are shaping their personality, values and beliefs. They can become aggressive or they can lose a sense of reality and fiction of what they are seeing. Moreover, young people imitate what they see and it is logical that they see glamour in what they do when they commit violence. Consequently, the society suffers as the streets are full of violence. Finally, too much portrayal of these also leads to immunity among the people and they are not affected by the disasters any more. Disasters like Tsunami and earthquakes don’t make people shed a tears anymore. In conclusion, I pen down, saying that, having a check on the violence in TV programmes and films, would certainly be a good start to decrease the violence and crime in society.