There is an increasing trend of old people living longer in many countries around the world. Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on the population as a whole?

The life expectancy of older people in many states is escalating continuously globally. This essay states that this trend has detrimental effects on the civilians by increasing the unemployment rate, and acute financial pressure on the government. The job scarcity has been increasing due to people’s long lives. In other words, the employees, working for a long time, are considered more experienced and have more opportunities for employment even after retirement, like military people. As a repercussion of this, the employers give more priority to the experienced ones and fresh graduates have to face the adverse effects in the shape of poverty. For example, the recent survey done by the “World Bank”, on “Human Resource Development” projects, states that more than 45% of joblessness is just because of the rehiring process of the retired personnel in different fields. Furthermore, the long lives of civilians are prone to develop higher financial pressure on the government. This is because, the government has to spend money on different health facilities and give some tax exemptions to the senior members of the society, consequently. Moreover, the government has to provide them shelter and food, like building senior daycare centers. As a result, these old aged people put a strain on the budget and the country is subjected to acute economic austerity. To illustrate, in China, the government spare more than 20% of their budget to the National Senior Day Care Services Association and the same proportion to the health facilities that can be spent on developing of nation’s businesses. To conclude, older people are likely to have longer lives in many nations worldwide. Looking from my vantage point, I can say that this rising shift is vulnerable to the country because of high unemployment and financial pressure.