Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Crime rate has risen steadily over the past few years and the phenomenon can be observed around the world. This essay will discuss the possible reasons and then delve into the acceptable solutions to curb crime rate. One of the major reasons for increase in criminal activity can be directly linked to lack of educational facilities for the lower strata of the society. Due to this, it has been observed over the past few years that, with the development of economies around the world, pay difference between the upper and the lower segment of the society has increased dramatically. This results in a feeling of injustice among the lower segment of the society, which pushes these people to cause disruption in society. For example, it has been observed that even though the majority of the crimes happen in metro cities, the culprits are normally found living in slums, which do not have proper schools or universities. The possible solution to the problem stated above can be better educational facilities. The government should reserve seats for the under privilege in the state universities and colleges. For example, professors not being able to find jobs can be asked to take lectures during evenings in state universities, which will be especially for the lower class. This would help in increasing penetration of education and encourage them to pursue corporate jobs and not be pushed towards crime. To sum up, I believe providing better education to the lower strata of the society can really help in developing this segment and also help in curbing the rising rate of crime.