The qualities that a truly successful person in our modern life has cannot be learned at universities and similar academic institutions.

It is argued by some people that attributes needed to be successful today cannot be learned in colleges and other educational institutions. I agree with this notion because qualities needed for success are inborn and are developed by the right upbringing. Firstly, the qualities needed for success today are innate. In other words, only people with the right genetic make-up can develop qualities such as intelligence, resilience and high attention span. For instance, many famous scientists were born with higher intelligent quotient compared to other people, which is responsible for their being successful. Although, many people attend universities, it is only those who have certain inborn attributes that are successful. Furthermore, qualities needed for success in life are developed when a person have the proper upbringing. This is due to the fact that a person with the right environmental and behavioral exposure is likely to form attributes that are essential for success. For example, a person who is surrounded by members of the family and friends that are accomplished would likely be successful compared to a person who does not have these benefits even if both attended the same academic institution. Therefore, proper upbringing would contribute to the development of qualities seen in accomplished people. In conclusion, although some people are of the view that a person need to attend an academic institution in order to learn important qualities for success, I believe that the qualities needed to be truly successful are developed by an interplay of nature and upbringing.