There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In recent times, the need to have a small family is gradually on the rise. Although, a small family offer better management of resources for the family and the community at large, there are also some definite drawbacks. One major benefit of a small household is that income are properly managed. This is because we live in a society whereby availability of finance to meet daily needs is limited. This has often times led to poverty. Consequently, providing for a small family becomes easy. For instance wages paid no matter how little it is might be able to cater for an individual and two dependents. In addition, few household in the long run can prevent overpopulation. A situation seen in most underdeveloped countries whereby the populace exceed the available resources. Also, It can preserve the environment from pollution due to few residents living in the neighborhood. On the other hand, a major issue with a small household is insecurity. Parents who have few children tend to be anxious about their wellbeing leading to overprotection. This is because losing a child can result in childlessness. Offsprings from such homes might become rebellion thereby constituting problems for the society. Furthermore, children from small household often times become lonely leading to withdrawal syndrome. This result from the fact that they grew up alone with little interactions. Thus, Depression might occur which can lead to suicide. A research carried out in India on the incidence of suicide revealed that one of the major cause of suicide is depression. To sum up, despite the benefit of small family, the disadvantages cannot be overlooked. People should therefore be conscious of insecurity and loneliness associated with it.