There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In today’s world, there is a global campaign on having a smaller family rather than a bigger one. Although there are many benefits of having a smaller family such as ease of control and maintenance, it also comes with certain drawbacks. Having a little family size is more beneficial these days to a bigger one because it is less expensive to maintain. Due to the harsh economic effect in most countries, many people are unable to afford the luxury of taking care of larger family size. For instance, a nuclear family can afford to send their children to the best schools around the world with their little resources which is not feasible for an extended family where there are so many dependents. In addition, a nuclear family can easily be managed and controlled. This is because the size of the family is under the control of the parent compared to a family were the population is so large that even the parent cannot identify all their children. On the other hand, there are also some demerits in having a smaller family rather than a bigger one. First, there are fewer helping hands available. This is because there are few children available to help the parents at the time of need. For instance, in a family of three were the parent are farmers, would have limitations on the number of children available to help during the farming seasons. Secondly, parents could be lonely at old age as there will be no persons available to take care of them. This is usually the case when the children live far away from home. Finally, in the advent of death or epidemic, parents might lose all their children and this would result to childlessness. In conclusion, though there are benefits of having a nuclear family rather than an extended one, so also are a disadvantages such as loneliness and fewer hands to help out in the time of need. A family should always strive to keep a balance between the two.