There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In recent time all around the world, there has been a decrease in the number of children being born in a family as compared to the times past. Having a small family is advantageous as it is economical and children can be given a better quality life, but there are some drawbacks to be taken into consideration as well. In the first place, raising a small family is relatively cheaper as the little resources available to cater for the family can conveniently meet the needs and give the family an improved quality life. As a result, parents can provide and give their children the best education, health care treatment and vacation. As an illustration, rise in inflation rate has caused an increase in the standard of living and inorder to ensure members of a family gets adequate quality life, it's important to have a small family. Furthermore, having a small family presents the family with the opportunity to understand the emotional needs of each child and helps parents bond well with their children. On the contrary, the major setback of having a small family is the inability of the children to develop great social skills while growing up. It is often said that children learn 75% of their social value from family and the remaining percent outside the walls of their home. A home with large number of people helps a child to learn how to relate with people, understand the value of integrity, selflessness and putting people first. Consequently, a child that grow up in a small family might not be exposed to this opportunity and tend to become adults that lacks relational skills. In conclusion, while having a small family is beneficial in some ways, there is the need to be conscious of the problems associated with raising a small family such as low development of social and relational skills.