There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

I am going to discuss on both the family types which are small and big. Well, both are having their own advantages and disadvantages over the period of time. I am going to give my own family example, as, I have good examples which I have observed very closely. My grandfather's family was a joint family. When I am too small everyone is sharing all the things each other and the environment in the family is very close and healthy. There are 3 brothers in the family. In certain time everything went smooth. All of a sudden one of the brothers lost job and the family expenses were taken care by other members. There all the quarrels started. They have started quarrelling about expenses and the fight went till the separation of the families. Now 3 small families were created out of that big family. Here only the father, the mother and their children. Only a few members were there in the house and the father was the head of the house. So there is no comparison between income and expenditures. Now spending on things eventually reduced as the number of people were less in the house. The advantages of having a small family was pretty much clear in the aspects of the savings, the time management and the individual family goals when we have compared with the large family. There are certain disadvantages too when we have a small family. For sure we might miss the guidance from elders and their affection.