* There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family.

Recently, it has been found out that people no longer desire to rear big sized family but minute sized. Although the merits include the fact that it is economical and the children get optimal attention but there are some drawbacks that should not be overlooked. To start with, one major advantage of this kind of family is that it is pocket friendly. That is to say, it is cheap to maintain. Since the the numbers are usually around 3-4, that is the parents with 1 or 2 children, the parents might not have to live from hand to mouth. Sometimes, little income will suffice and everyone will be satisfied. Another advantage is that, the children get the best legacy. In other words, they are properly nurtured through their educational life. Some meticulous ones could further to acquire several post graduate degrees. On the other hand, there are some downsides. Firstly, the offspring from such homes might not be socially inclined. To clarify, them might have low thresholds for dispute and be unable to handle other people's differences. Consequently, they keep to themselves and could swing into depression if proper care is not taken. Secondly, they have been found to be sometimes overtly protected. As a result, they do not have a mind of their own, not only that but might be naive in most cases. Eventually, they might grow into adults with low self esteem and in worse circumstances commit suicide. As it was the case of an only child who dropped a suicidal note stating how she could not cope with bullying at school. In conclusion, despite the upsides of small sized family, the minuses which include being socially disadvantaged and undue protection that results in inadequacies in adulthood should be of great concern.