News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Everybody wants to keep itself updated about what is happening in their society. Therefore, electronic and print media are the two factors in keeping us updated. And nowadays, these mediums are a using a lot of visual cues along with the actual information. For some people this approach is more beneficial, rather than delivering a news without any images. I personally believe that this is the right strategy. This essay will discuss this scenario using the examples of Oxford University research and Times Magazine survey to demonstrate the points and supports the claims. Firstly, the photographs associated with any piece of news gives us a clear view, that this incident or thing had actually happened. Furthermore, it is easy to assume the importance of any incident by watching the pictures. For example, Oxford University in 2015 researched that it is psychologically proven that images create a long lasting impact on the audience, as compared to just reading any specific information. So, it is clear from the example that the media depends so much on the photographs, because it wants to influence the audience by the legality of the situation. Secondly, images are considered more reliable, as compared to reading or listening the same account. Additionally, it is easier for the general public to idealize the whole situation without even reading the whole information. Similarly, a survey of Times Magazine suggests the same story, that 80% people of UK have no time to go in the details and they just go through the visual cues, in order to judge the whole scenario while reading the newspaper. So from this example, it is clear that people create the whole story in their mind by just watching an image in the digital platforms. To conclude, photographs play an important role in making any story effective. I personally think that photos are an important medium to convey any sort of message in the media platforms. In the future, with the advancement of technology, we will be able to see more clarity in the news, using more details visual cues of that incident.