The primary purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computers, software, videos, and DVDs.

Some people believe libraries should contain books only, and the government should not waste the assigned budget for public libraries on other digital modes of studying like computers and videos. This essay disagrees with this because these days number of books is available in the digital format and saves time and energy. Firstly, these days, due to modernized computer software and several systems, many books become digitized. People quickly get their favorite books on any computer storage device rather than a paper format. Therefore, I think spending money on computer-related stuff in public libraries will create more space for those books which are too old and can't be digitized. For example, In Beijing, China, over 25% of people, including youngsters, are like to spend their weekend in the public library because they are more enthusiastic about using modern technology which they recently equipped. Secondly, in this modern era, people are more inclined towards the computer, internet, and video format material rather than to read books because it saves more time and energy. In the past, people spend time to walk the aisle to the isle to find the required books or journals. Presently, thanks to digital media, vast collections of books and journals are available on one click rather than walk around the whole library. For instance, according to the survey in California, over 30% of people are happy to get their favorite books on their USP device; instead, they borrowed a heavy paperback book. To summarize, the implementation of modern technology in public libraries is better to use within limited resources. Digital materials attract and inclined more people toward reading, respectively.