There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children which encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children while some advertisers claim that they provid

Most advertisements are targeting children nowadays and push them to purchase products that ranges from play toys to foods. Whilst parents feel this mentally affects the children, advertisers believe they pass beneficial knowledge to the children through their advertisements. It is agreed that a large number of ads cause a detrimental impact on children as well as parents in terms of health and finance respectively. In this essay, I will discuss both the points of view before coming to a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, by watching the increased number of ads, children become too adamant to buy the advertised products. This is because the ads are telecast in a way that stimulate the children’s mind to buy that immediately. These overly advertised products throw harmful effects on children’s health as well as parent’s financial circumstance. For instance, Lays, a popular chips product is advertised colorfully and overly priced to attract youngsters to eat, but the Federal Drug Administration of the US does not recommend this food item and it claims these food products have greater chances to cause cancer. On the other hand, the ad companies claim it provides benefits through their advertisement and respective products. Moreover, they argue that their innovative play toys not only boost children’s creativity, but also promotes young minds to actively involve in mathematical skills. A good illustration is that Lego which is a toy manufacturing company produces colorful building sets and bricks which make younger people to build architectures of their own tastes, thus it motivates them to bring out the talents. Although, some ads are very beneficial, most ads are misleading, and, therefore, this essay disagrees that ads provide useful information for children. In conclusion, with the benefits of ads in some circumstances, in most places, it provides mental stress to children and their wards. Hence, I am convinced that ads mislead people, especially children and the government should regulate the ads before it is directed to the young children who do not have the requisite knowledge to think and analyze which is good and which is bad.