There is a disagreement on the impact of increased business and culture contact between countries on a nation’s identity. What is your opinion?

Public discourse shows no sign of abating on the topic of whether ever increasing cross-country contact in terms of business, and culture exerts a positive, or a negative influence on a country’s identity. I contend that this is a test which those countries failing will slowly, yet surely lose their identity, whereas those passing will experience national uniformity. Lest cultural assimilation occur, due to the pervasive invasion of multinational corporations as well as different cultures, a nation’s identity can wane. Their people are highly likely prone to integration of dissimilar cultural values, and are probable to gradually forget their national conventions, together with their spirit of patriotism. China is a typical example in which case, facing a burgeoning international workforce, the authority has mandated English as a compulsory subject for primary school students so aggressively that the number of people who deem learning their first language unnecessary is at an unprecedented level. Although this movement is beneficial when it can yield a more linguistically prepared population, in the future, when these Chinese citizens do not speak their mother tongue anymore, their sense of belongings to the country, as well as nationalism will disappear. By contrast, a nation’s identity can also be forged, even in the face of invasive business and culture contact. This is evident in the example of Australia wherein residents actively endorse domestic businesses, and are intrigued by their Indigenous stories. According to a study conducted by a Chinese researcher in March 2020, despite their country being the most culturally diverse nation in the Southern Hemisphere, surveyed Australians believed that this has little effect on their affection for the country, and still took pride on their mateship spirit. In the future, they will be catalysts for national uniformity. In summary, contextually speaking, foreign business, and cultural penetration can put all countries to a national identity test. I strongly believe that no country is at a position to deviate from the impacts of this phenomenon; therefore, it is advisable that all benefits and challenges be scrutinised, before any major decision is made.