There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

As the importance of higher education has been emphasised since the start of the new century, the number of university students has also increased. While many people believe that this is a positive outcome, others argue that this may endanger the quality of education. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the increased number of university students. The rise in the number of tertiary students has brought several benefits. Many jobs nowadays such as accounting and banking require a university degree. Since there are now more university graduates with the appropriate qualification, employers are able to select from a wider pool of applicants. In addition, an increase in the number of people attending higher education will lead to an increase in the number of highly skilled workers who can earn more. Consequently, the taxes collected from these workers will help to develop better public services. On the other hand, there are also unavoidable negative consequences. In the old day, having a university degree was considered an admirable achievement, whereas this is often considered a societal norm in this day and age. This places pressure on the individuals to be competitive and to extend their academic journey. For example, there are more master's degree and phD holders because having a bachelor's degree alone does not provide a competitive advantage. Apart from this sort of competition, the quality of higher education may be lowered due to the fact that teachers cannot attend to too many students at once. Additionally, there may be insufficient resources to conduct a proper teaching environment for every student. In conclusion, even though many people are becoming more competitive and there is a lot of strain on educational systems, the increase in university students are believed to greatly benefit the employers and the society as a whole. I am therefore of the opinion that this increase is a positive trend.