In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

worldwide. The surge in the number of people opting for online classes is justified by the vast range of advantages that these classes provide. Online learning or e-learning provides students all over the globe with easily accessible courses on a wide selection of subjects. These courses are available on the web wherever and whenever required, and hence have an immense positive impact on the ease of use of the available resources. Students are able to schedule their days in a more flexible way, thereby giving them the luxury of altering their schedule as the day progresses. Research shows that not all people are active and attentive during the same time of the day. E-Learning helps students take these lessons during the time of the day when they are most attentive, and this will reflect positively in their grasp of the subject matter. E-Learning is more convenient than traditional learning methods, because it renders geographical boundaries insignificant. It brings forth the possibility of learning from anyone, anywhere in the world. This proves to be a boon in today’s increasingly globalised world, and allows students to seek after professionals who display expertise in their field of interest. Online learning is also far more economical than conventional learning, as it saves the students commuting and housing costs. However, it is impossible for online learning to serve as a complete substitute for classroom learning. Theoretical subjects can be effectively studied online, but subjects such as management and business are grasped better in a real-world setting. It has also been found that peer mentoring is a key element in reinforcing students’ understanding of a topic, and allows them to identify and address different views on the same topic. Human interaction plays a vital role in the holistic development of any student. So, it is essential to find a balance between the online and conventional methods of learning in order to truly become the master of one’s trade.