Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. with this statement?

Entertainment can come in various forms such as books, movies, and TV series. Many book lovers tend to think that reading actively engages the mind, while arguing that watching television in the long run kills imagination. I partially agree with this point of view. It is difficult to deny that reading books is a more mentally stimulating activity than watching TV. A reader's brain is kept active by the act of imagining through which written words are turned into mental images. When reading, one can freely imagine whatever they please, for example, how certain characters and sceneries look like in a story. On the other hand, all the images are already presented to movie viewers, with sounds and special effects. In addition, books allow a reader to pause and reflect. Reflection helps to enhance the understanding of the author's ideas or stories as well as the reader's pleasure in immersing in their imagination. It is not possible to pause television and movies in the cinema. Unless one watches movies online, on Netflix for example, which allows one to pause, one is robbed of the opportunity to reflect in this relatively passive form of entertainment. Despite the benefits of books, it can be argued that a person can still exercise their imagination while watching films. Some people might try to imagine the ending of a movie or what the protagonist might do next. Therefore, movies do not necessarily kill imagination. In conclusion, although watching movies allows for some degree with imagination, it is not as mentally stimulating as reading books. If a person wants to keep their mind active during a film, they should try to imagine the plot or pause and reflect on the ideas and meanings of the story.