The number of old people around the world is increasing dramatically. Is this a positive development?

With the advancement in the field of health sector, there has been an increase in the average lifespan of homo sapiens. Whether the impact of this increase in percentage of living old individuals, is beneficial or harmful is a contentious issue. This essay will emphasize on the views of both sides. Elders are the building blocks of a society; their experiences in life helps others to shape their future. Firstly, elders of the family look after the grandkids, enabling their parents to schedule their day more efficiently. The care they provide is far better than the attention given in kindergartens and preschools, and also, they charge only love. Secondly, some of the retirees provide helpful services in the community. For instance, they voluntarily feed the homeless in soup kitchens, or drive handicapped or older people to their hospital appointments and church sessions. Thus, their contribution to society is undeniable. However, despite the above mentioned facts, many believe that there are a plethora of negative impacts of this increase. To begin with, the rising number of retired people is contributing to the increasing financial burden on the tax-paying working class. For instance, according to the data of the National Health Sector of U. K, last year geriatrics comprised more than three fourth of the total recorded visits to the General Physician’s clinic. Furthermore, increasing lifespan means low mortality, which leads to expansion of the population. The increase in necessities of this bustling population thus, put a strain on the existing resources, therefore, raising load on the biosphere. In conclusion, the dramatic increase in elder population has both pros and cons related to it. But, with better management by government and local communities to find ways to occupy these extra helping hands, may lead to better results in future.