There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Universities have experience a significant rise in the number of students in the past several decades. Some people argue that it’s a positive change and increases the educational level while others believe it is decreasing the standard of education. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of raise in quantity of students at university. On the one hand, more undergraduates offer several benefits including increase graduates and finances for the institute. Firstly, the increase in graduates is beneficial for the country, that is, doctors, scientists and engineers to serve. In addition, universities get more cash in terms of course fees which can be used to hire more teachers, expand and improve the overall condition. For example, Boston University has expanded over 1200 acres in the last two decades. Finally, it also increases the competition among students who strive to perform better. On the other hand, there could be many disadvantages if universities have increased in learner numbers. Firstly, the overall standard of education will get compromised. It is difficult to focus on every member of the class if they are in huge quantity. Additionally, it will create a lot of problems in society. For example, it will put a lot of pressure on the social welfare department to provide loans – a situation already developing in Japan. Finally, it will lead to more unemployment because the numbers of job are limited. In conclusion, student enrolment has greatly increased over the last few decades. This essay discussed the advantages of this including growth in the work force of the country and more finances for the institute. It also debated the disadvantages including the low calibre of education and unemployment. In my opinion, the positive aspects far outweigh the negatives. Therefore, this development is largely beneficial for the states.