There are more and more negative news. Some think that would harm the individual and the society.

Media and its influence on the societies, has grown exponentially with the advance of technology. It had been noticed that media has more tendency to focus on problems and emergencies than positive development. There are specific reasons why media tends to highlight negative events, but in my opinion, it has more drawbacks than benefits. To begin, there is a logical rationale for why news reports always seem to be about some disastrous or emergency events. Firstly, mass media has the responsibility to cover emergency issues, such as natural disaster and environmental issues. As a result, it allows people to protect themselves from potential financial loss and physical injuries. Secondly, it plays a significant role in raising public awareness as to the current issues as well as their safety and carefulness. For example, by reporting fatal car accidents is an efficient way to educate the public to drive carefully when they are on the road. There is no doubt that knowing the truth of social problems is conducive to preventing them, the influence and drawbacks, however, should also be taken into consideration. Firstly, most of the news is tempered by adding negative elements in order to draw public attention. For example, the news reported on the television usually exposed many images or videos of violent scenes, it could affect people’s psychological state which leads to various negative emotions such as depression, anxiety. Further, more often than not news reports tend to swing one way or the other when it comes to the question of politics. As a result, most of their news stories are slanted in a certain way to swing public opinion towards one political party or others. In conclusion, although news reports related to problems and emergencies are being wide-spread, the public should filter and view the information reported more objectively.