News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Information plays an important role in modern societies. Thus, news are relevant to people in order to keep them informed about not only their cities but also the whole world. Unfortunately, due to human nature, news have an exaggerated focus on bad things. Although, I think the news should be focusing equally on good things. Firstly, in our fast paced society news play a fundamental role, since the world is in a constant change state. For instance, someone needs to follow the news for being informed about changes in local traffic routes, regional health concerns, and new government rules. Therefore, neglecting the news can lead to either miss opportunities or risky situations. The reason why the majority of the news are bad is that humans are constantly seeking for self preservation. As an example, it is not uncommon for news related to violence being on top of the chart. Hence, this exaggerated negative focus is a situation where both the news and the public are focusing on the bad things. Finally, news should inform people about good and bad things with the same intensity. Otherwise, people might think that the situation is worse than it is. For example, someone constantly presented to news related to crime might believe that the crime rates are on the rise, while that might not be true. In conclusion, news are fundamental in modern daily life, either by keeping people informed about their region or by bringing up awareness about a danger. However, too much focus is given to bad news by both society and the news itself. Therefore, I believe news should be about good and bad things on equal amount.