News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

It is commonly seen that news has become an imperative facet of the lives of the majority of individuals. In my opinion, I believe that there are various reasons why this has become so and also why there is a lot of focus on coverage of negative news. With regard to the reasons why news is crucial for a lot of individuals, first and foremost, every individual wants to stay abreast with the latest happening in the world around them. Not only is this important from a career perspective, but this also affects their day-to-day lives, including regular things such as shopping, food or schooling. Secondly, for many people, news is a habit they indulge in. These individuals avail of the news to fill their time or distract themselves when they have time to spare or even otherwise. Regarding why a lot of the media’s focus is on covering bad news, this is mostly so because untoward incidents can easily be sensationalized. To elaborate, there is an exceptional interest in unfortunate happenings, be it an accident, natural calamity or war. Because of this, news agencies cover such events extensively so as to ensure they hold captive their audience thereby increasing their ratings. Finally, it is debatable if the focus of news ought to be on what is pleasant and encouraging. In my view, I believe that news must be reported as is and it is not the media’s duty to decide whether anything is good or bad. In other words, the objective of journalism is only to document events in society and it is the freedom of the reader to decide what is good or not and follow his preference. In conclusion, while it is an obvious fact that news is a critical aspect in the daily life of many and there is a general tendency of the media leaning towards dour news, it is my belief that the focus should solely be on news whether it is good or bad.