There are many ways of preventing crimes that are much better than prison.

An act is considered a crime if its nature deviates from the prevailing laws though there are different aspects and types of crimes, I would like to brief up crimes which result in imprisonment. A person is imprisoned so that the living society is not harmed by his acts and also a chance that the inmate gets corrected. We see that prison certainly prevents crime but there are also certain better ways by which a person can be restrained from committing crimes. Firstly by maintaining a complete database of the doubtful citizens, this can be done by the police department because they possess the data of each and every individual and using this data his/her activities can be monitored and a close check can be kept on such suspicious persons. Secondly, counseling should be done to persons who are susceptible to commit crimes. There are many ways to prevent crimes apart from the above stated and they would certainly control the crime rate and correct the anti-social elements prevailing in our societies, for instance, a person commits robbery due to the want of money and if the victim opposes, the robber tries to harm the victim and steals the valuables. We see that general crimes are done due to hunger, want of money, poverty and unemployment. If the authorities have a check on the above-stated reasons and care is taken to check the situation of the person, no doubt then a majority of the crimes can be reduced. Apart from the above, there are certain crimes which are done in haste, these types of crimes can be controlled by delivering psychological counselling to such people and diverting their minds by inducing them to various other recreational activities like meditation, yoga and spiritual thinking etc. As far as my opinion is concerned it is good that a person should think twice before committing crime and such thoughts are to be inculcated into his mind and certainly there will be a drastic downfall in crime rate and subsequently reduction in state’s exchequer envisaged for handling prisons. But prisons are also necessary for handling heinous criminals and with prisons their effect on society can be controlled. There are many other ways to prevent crime but the need of such alternatives has to be debated on a broader scale before taking a decision.