Learning a foreign language offers an insight into how people from other cultures think and see the world. The teaching of a foreign language should be compulsory at all primary schools.

Skill in a foreign language is really handy and if it is initiated from an early age, according to some language experts, it would be more effective than any other methods. I agree that a foreign language should be made mandatory for primary schools for the reasons below. First of all, childhood learning lasts longer. Children are naturally quick learners. So, when they are engaged in to learn something newer, they turn wondering and consequently come to know about everything. The fact is similar to children in primary schools. When they will learn a new language in class, the language will offer an insight to them which makes them curious to know more about the people of other cultures or using that language. It creates a scope to explore the world which finally helps them to widen their knowledge. Secondly, learning at a mature age is difficult. Usually, adults experience numerous obstacles while learning like they lack time, subjects appear difficult etc. So, learning turns ineffective and if it is a foreign language, the troubles rise more. My son, a primary grade student, was curious about Spanish. He had a course titled ‘How to learn Spanish’ in his school. So, he wanted to know more about people and culture of Spain and often tried to speak Spanish. But it was impossible for me to communicate in Spanish with him and thus I arranged some reading materials. He appeared on oral Spanish tests and did very well, and turned into a fluent Spanish speaker. But I am unable in my thirties to learn or speak a foreign language like my eight-year-old child. So, to conclude, I think if a foreign language learning is made compulsory in primary schools, it would help the kids to develop a standard communication skill, understanding of other culture and people; which in turn, will be quite effective in next phases of their lives.