In some countries, it can be difficult for people over the age of 50 to get good jobs, despite their experience. What do you think are the causes of this problem, and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Young people are often considered over the old ones by most organisations. The percentage of people losing their jobs due to their age as they advance beyond 50 is alarmingly more in some countries. Such problems are a matter of great concern and must be addressed for a better economic state of a nation. It is first essential to examine the reasons leading to this problem. To begin with, the major factor promoting such paradigm is non-reform labour laws.  In some countries, there is no mention of the maximum number of working hours in the laws one company can make its employee work. Not just this if such laws exist then they are not fully enforced. In such instances, most companies expect its worker to work more than 10 hours a day which they feel is difficult for an old to person to put in a day. Further, an old person would have to be paid more than a young amateur person for having greater experience when the job can be managed with persons with less knowledge.  In addition, old people are believed to be less flexible and physically active than the young generation and hence often refuse for a job. Thus, it very important for a country to take measures to solve this issue for the welfare of the citizens. Firstly, a reform law should be passed that allow a company to take work for fixed hours from its employees. Secondly, steps should be taken to check if the law is correctly followed by its citizens. Thirdly, some fitness promoting initiatives should be taken so that old people are fit to do any job the like. Finally, companies should be barred from refusing anybody on the ground of the age. To conclude, people above 50 years of age are less favoured for a job owing to numerous reasons. It is essential for a country, to take strict measures to tackle such issues, in order to grow and take good care of its citizens.