There are many ways of preventing crimes that are much better than prison.

It is believed that there are other effective and efficient methods for anticipating crimes, besides prison. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but each people have their own different personalities. Some people could be developed through social and humanistic approaches, but there are others who can only be disciplined through imprisonment. On the one hand, some people believe that the government should find other alternative ways in preventing crimes besides jail punishment. These people think that crimes could be prevented through humanistic approaches, such as giving campaigns and awareness of crimes through social media. And then the government could also prevent crimes through some holistic approaches, such as giving some religious seminars about the negative effect of crimes. These people believe that these humanistic methods are more effective in reducing the number of crimes than prison. On the other hand, it is a fact that every criminal has his/her different personality as each of them came from different cultures and backgrounds. Some people have been raised in a tough neighbourhood such as being raised in a conflict area or living in a poor and slum suburb. As a result, these people are familiar with violence and crimes. Humanistic and social approaches could not be implemented for these people, and imprisonment would be the most effective methods for them. In conclusion, it is said that there should be another way in preventing crimes besides prison. I personally believe that both methods should be combined. Governments should start with a more humanistic approach in preventing crimes by giving campaigns to their people. Once they found that the method is ineffective then they should change the method into warnings and fines. And if these methods still could not reduce the number of crimes, then governments should implement the imprisonment.