There are many benefits to a good education. Therefore, a university education should be offered to all students, not just students with good high school grades.

It is logical that admission to universities remains open to all, than just restricting it to pupils with remarkable high school marks, in order to gain the numerous advantages of a standard learning. However, academic performance is a measure of the ability that prospective learners necessarily need to possess for meeting the demands and rigour of higher education. Further, it is a mere waste of time, energy and money if students without aptitude try to stretch for what is obviously out of reach, rather than going for a career oriented study elsewhere. Therefore, I strongly believe that excellent grades are a benchmark for securing a seat at a university. Firstly, if students are not able to prove their merit at pre-university level, it is unlikely they can withstand the pressures and expectations of a university course. The complexity of education increases manifold at universities as compared to that at high schools. Therefore, it would be unreasonable to expect a student who is weak, for instance, in science and mathematics to scale heights with an engineering program of study. Such pursuits are bound to bring extraordinary defeats, and had better be refrained from. Secondly, there are several career oriented training programs which can lead to a decent earning, without having to go through the depth of study as exposed to at universities. This is a promising venue to invest in for high school pass outs with low grades. Instead of wasting resources at a university, they can march forward proudly with the necessary skills acquired at a technical institute and seek good jobs. Except for rare cases where students may lose marks due to acute illnesses while being largely capable of a university study, it is highly practical that those with poor marks do not get into a university program. To conclude, in my opinion, good grades alone shall stand students in good stead to obtain education at a university, as that is certainly a yard stick of their innate capacity to bear the intensity of studies there. There are other options available that are good enough for those with lower marks, and therefore they can reap benefits from them.