In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison. *compulsory wo

I largely disagree with what some members of society consider as proper imprisoning anyone who engages in any form of criminal activity. It would be more appropriate to contain the punishment for lower degree mischieves by subjecting the guilty to social service. Firstly, penalty should be commensurate with the extent of harm done, in order to have a lasting positive rehabilitation. Neither an excess nor a deficit doze of enforced distress can evoke the desired result of refraining from similar activities in future. For example, if an impoverished man who succumbs to stealing is sent to jail, it may aggravate incidences of thefts involving him- as he would have found the prison a much guaranteed source of regular food. On the other hand, if he were to be asked to do voluntary service with similar supply of meals, he might even have found a means of earning his bread with physical work. Thus, sentences should be prescribed by carefully judging the need. Secondly, outrageous criminals behind the bars can disrupt the already delicate integrity of amateur miscreants. This can have lasting consequences on the balance of law and order in the community, as the networking opportunities in the prison house can produce dormant anti social elements. For instance, modus operandi sharing can go viral within the four walls, only to send out more sophisticated outlaws. Therefore, it is extremely important to save the innocent defaulters from the hands of novice barbarians swarming the prison walls. In conclusion, though only an adept walk through of free service as a form of rebuking may solicit reformation, it cannot be done away with to make way for cell life irrespective of the kind of misdeed.