There are diferent kinds of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard these days?

Music has always played an important part in our lives. It has even shaped the way we look at the world and people around us. Every song we listen to triggers a certain kind of emotion. It may be the lyrics or the tune or the voice and the tone of the person singing it. Some people find their own identity through music. They write lyrics and albums to cater to a certain kind of feeling or phases in life. Lately, we have seen a shift. A lot of people give more preference to listening to music not native to their culture but from other cultures. In this essay, we will debate on why this is the case. Music has always had a lot of benefits. We hear music in some or the other form from the time we were born. A Mother puts her child to sleep by singing a lullaby. A kid is taught how to sing nursery rhymes in school. We also tend to learn things faster if we remember it as a song, and it has already been proven by studies that reading something with a melody helps boost memory. With so many songs coming out each day, there is always a song which caters to all kinds of audiences. There is music which can soothe us and put us to sleep, or a song which can motivate us to work harder in life. In short, Music is essential for living. Recently there has been a trend where we are swaying away from listening to our own songs, and listening to more international music. I think this has more to do with the quality. Today's traditional music has been commercialized to cater to a very casual audience. The lyrics of songs today do not have a lasting impact on someone. With all the interactions I have had with people, a lot of them remember songs which made them feel a certain way. Those were not songs which were made in our country but made internationally. This was the case mostly because it probably had a story behind how that song was really akin to them at a certain point in their life. There is also the fact that their tastes in the music has opened doors to find out more about the cultures and traditions in that country, which made them more open minded. In conclusion, I think listening to international music is important. In fact, I think it is more important because I feel the quality is a notch above what is produced traditionally today, coupled with the fact that it opens our minds to different culture and tradition. But that is not to say we ignore everything about our songs. There are certain diamonds in the rough which we might find and hold close to our hearts. Music connects people in really amazing ways and that is true, be it traditional or international.