In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Family structure plays a vital role to form a society, but from the past few decades, it is noticed that family structures have changed from joint to nuclear family system and this change has its own pros and cones. I believe that the benefits of these changes are less than its drawbacks. A joint family system strengthens social and moral ethics, which are the basic pillars to form a strong nation. The joint family system teaches its young generation, how to help others and make a strong bond with other family members by helping them in their tough time. Furthermore, the whole family act as a team to tackle any problem. As a result, the young generation trained in such environment act as a family to solve the problem when their country faces any kind of issue. The joint family system helps the financially weak family member, who later on can be an earning hand of the family. When all the family members earn then the financial status of the whole family starts increasing gradually. For instance, most of the families in Pakistan lived in joint family structure, where three generations (grandparent to grandsons) are living in the same house and earning is the responsibility of all male family members. They all share their financial issues with each other and everyone contributes their share to solve that issue. Consequently, a financially weak family member becomes able to tackle the problem. In conclusion, the nuclear family system provides privacy to a family, but its members have to pay its price. They have to handle financial and social problems by themselves. On the other hand, members of the joint family system stand by the side of each other in every situation. Therefore, the joint family system outweighs the nuclear family structure.