The use of social media, such as Facebook, Instagram is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, with the explosive growth of technology, social networking sites such as Facebook and Instagram are beginning to take over person to person interaction. Personally, I totally follow the idea that this trend will provide humans with more pros than cons. On the one hand, keeping in touch with others through social networks is convenient. To illustrate, because the Internet is becoming more common now, people can easily access it anywhere and anytime with a smartphone. Therefore, social media apps are able to help them interact with their friends easier by texting, calling or even seeing each other’s faces on the screen. As a result, these types of apps make communication more comfortable and time-saving. Moreover, this is an effective solution for long-distance communication. For example, instead of the traditional way like writing letters and sending telegrams in the past, using social media can help everyone receive and send messages immediately, so they can save time and exchange more information with their relatives, especially parents who want to talk with their children living or working abroad. However, this is not always the best way to replace face to face contact due to the importance of human interaction. For instance, in some settings such as business, real-life conversations are essential for businessmen to discuss directly with counterparts to reach the final decision on their contract. Another situation is that when individuals really miss their loved ones, texting or talking through a screen seems not to be lively enough as it would be better with physical contact including hugging and kissing one another. To sum up, social media platforms will definitely bring back numerous benefits, but in some cases, it cannot replace entirely the conventional communication method.