The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media has profoundly infiltrated into everyone’s life in a digital era and are assumed to overtake our face-to-face contact. While I contend that this development has both pros and cons, I would believe that there are more advantages than disadvantages. The use of social media harms individuals across the world. Firstly, the employment of social media unpredictably led to the existence of communication barriers. Currently, a majority of people frequently communicate with messages with an illustration that displays their emotions rather than the actual tone of their voices. Misinterpretation of the outcome of this trend is more likely to occur. Secondly, one of the downsides of this issue is that people are becoming dependent on the excessive virtual social network - leading to a desire to neglect real life. Moreover, people may fall prey to online communication violence, such as cyberbullying and harassment - without offensive limitations or offensive content. On the other hand, there are benefits to contacting through social networking sites. They are powerful instruments to accelerate the flow of information. For example, COVID-19 is immensely complicated; consequently, its breaking news is up-to-the-minute and instantly, notably free. Keeping up with what is happening in our surroundings has never been more efficient. Also, media technology can help us remove geographical barriers and enable us to engage with others than previously. Through using social media such as Facebook or Twitter, we can conveniently share information, make a call, or stay in contact with others. In conclusion, the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantages, because it brings a plethora of benefits to our life.