Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, technology has a huge effect on the way humans communicate with each other. People have become more vibrant in their virtual world, but silent in the world of reality. Most of us tend or even prefer texting to each other rather than talking to each other. Although technology helps us to communicate easier than ever before, it also damages our health. When telegraph was introduced, many people still used letters as their main choice of telecommunication or using both. But since the invention of the telephone, this revolutionized how we interact with each other, from alphabets to speeches. Then, the internet came and made communications between parts of the world possible. Everyone doesn’t have to wait until dinner to communicate with their own family. We can use each of our mobile phones with mobile connection and we are deep inside of our virtual world, where everybody’s expressions are all around. Gradually, we are closer to our online world and further from the offline world and our texts and messages are now louder than our own voices. As we appreciate using our phones as a connector with everyone else, our own bodies are becoming more unhealthy, both in physical and mental. For example, lots of studies about the health consequences affected from our virtual world have been done in recent years. It is possible to summarize that heavy use of phones can damage eyes, finger bones and some cognitive abilities. Also, to our mental health, there is one research about how social media can cause depression especially in the younger generation. Telecommunication technologies throughout human history have changed the way we interact with each other. They also established a new social norm that phones, along with the internet, play a crucial role in communications and make our life easier. On the other hand, phones can make us less healthy, too.