Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems.

In metropolitan cities, people find few chances to meet their neighbours, and thus, there is a lack of social relations between them. These circumstances have adverse effects on society. This essay will discuss the causes of these situations and the keys to solving this issue. Firstly, the people of the modern generation are workaholic and busy in building their careers. They find it is a waste of time to mingle with their neighbours. Moreover, they have tight schedules between job and life, even people work overnight to meet their targets. Secondly, people are concerned about the safety of their children, the news regarding abduction cases is so scaring and parents don't want their kids to play or roam around the streets with neighbouring children. For instance, children are directed to play online or virtual games in their homes. Finally, people from various part of the world resides as neighbours in metro cities and they have different culture and attitudes. Additionally, they speak languages that are not familiar to others, so people find it difficult to interact with them. These situations harm society, if a critical situation arises nobody will care and everybody will remain as a viewer. There are certain measures through which these issues can be solved. Residence associations can arrange weekly meetings to give a chance for dwellers to interact with each other. Also, they can start activity centres for children so that they can play and develop co-curricular skills. Through children, families can interact and maintain a good relation. Furthermore, companies can adjust the working hours of their employees and ensure that their employees are getting enough time for social life. Hence, they will perform much better in their job. To sum up, the lack of social relationships between city dwellers has a negative impact on the society and measures taken by employers and the residence association can solve this issue.