The tradition that famliy gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

In the fast-paced world today, it seems that the tradition of families having meals together is gradually being forgotten. From my perspective, there could be several reasons, concerning the family member themselves, behind the disappearance of this joyful activity. I also firmly believe that the lack of family-gathering time can have some serious implications on both the adults and their children. To begin, it is undeniable that what causes the separation during mealtimetime in the family may be the dense working schedule of the members. Nowadays, it is obvious that parents are working harder for a longer period of time so as to support their families. Some adults, even have to take more shifts than they were initially allotted as they are facing financial difficulties. Likewise, children now also have a more demanding workload from school, which sometimes require them to spend more time accomplishing. As a result, their time for family meals is significantly reduced. Additionally, it is also possible that there can be some sorts of disputes within the family and they prevent the parents and their kids from sitting down and enjoying a delightful meal together. This can be considered a very common reason for the phenomenon. It is inevitable that the disappearance of family meals can have several detrimental effects to the family. When they cannot spend time eating together, the family bonds are likely to be loosened, which can result in children feeling a lack of affection from their own parents. Furthermore, it is at family meals that parents shape their children's manners as well as teach them how to behave when there are guests. Therefore, kids who do not have meals with their parents frequently are less likely to develop proper manners. All in all, there are many reasons which prevent families from eating together, most of which stemming from the family members themselves. And it is clear that such lack of quality time with family can have negative impacts on the families and the children's development.